How to Restore a Teams Group

Modified on Mon, 11 Apr 2022 at 11:11 AM

Introduction

When I am managing my Teams Lifecycle to prevent Microsoft Teams sprawl or manage compliance and retention, I deleted or archived a team. I now want to be able to select a Team (or Teams) and restore them. As an operator, I would like a management action that allows me to restore an MS Teams Team (Group).

 

There are many reasons that you may have to Archive a Teams Group. If a Project ends, long-term or short-term project completion, or for regulatory purposes. You now want to restore that Team so that it can be utilized by the group again.

 

Deleting a Team removes all data objects at the backend and all data tied to that Team. That data cannot be retrieved after thirty days. Archiving a Team allows you to keep that data for retention and allows you to also mark it as “read-only”. You can only restore the Team within those thirty days if deleted. If the Team was achieved, it can be restored at any time.

 

The following guide will provide you with instructions on restoring a Team(s) that have been deleted (within the thirty-day window) or an archived Team. This action will also make the Team active again.

 

Let’s Get Started

The following section will guide you through the steps of Restoring a Teams Group.

  1. You will log into CoreView and choose the ‘Manage’ tab at the top.
  2. You will scroll down and click the “Teams” section.

Graphical user interface, application, Teams

Description automatically generated

  1. You will then click “Archive Teams Group”.

A screenshot of a computer

Description automatically generated

 

You now be presented with a list of Teams groups that have not been archived.

 

  1. Scroll to the Team(s) you want to Restore or search for the name in the ‘Display Name’ field and filter for results
  2. Select the Team

Graphical user interface, text, application, email

Description automatically generated

 

  1. Click on Proceed

Timeline

Description automatically generated

 

  1. You are now on the final screen before committing your change. Verify that the right Team(s) are listed.
  2. Once the blue checkmark is clicked, your Teams Group will be restored.

Graphical user interface, application, Teams

Description automatically generated

  1. Task runs and completes.

Graphical user interface, application

Description automatically generated

 

Success! You have Restored your Teams Group!

 

I hope you found this process straightforward to follow.

 

Further Reading

 How to Archive a Teams Group


Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We apprciate your effort and will try to fix the article