How to Archive a Teams Group

Modified on Mon, 11 Apr 2022 at 11:11 AM

Introduction

When I am managing my Teams Lifecycle to prevent Microsoft Teams sprawl or to manage compliance and retention, I want to be able to select a Team (or Teams) for archival. As an operator, I would like a management action that allows me to archive an MS Teams Team (Group).

 

There are many reasons that you may want to Archive a Teams Group. If a Project ends, long-term or short-term project completion, or for regulatory purposes.

 

Deleting a Team removes all data objects at the backend and all data tied to that Team. That data cannot be retrieved after thirty days. Archiving a Team allows you to keep that data for retention and allows you to also mark it as “read-only”.

  

The following guide will provide you with instructions on how to Archive Teams that are no longer being used. This action will also allow you to make the Team “read-only” and what that action does.

 

Let’s Get Started

The following section will guide you through the steps of Archiving a Teams Group.

  1. You will log into CoreView and choose the ‘Manage’ tab at the top.
  2. You will scroll down and click the “Teams” section.

Graphical user interface, application, Teams

Description automatically generated

  1. You will then click “Archive Teams Group”.

A screenshot of a computer

Description automatically generated

 

You now be presented with a list of Teams groups that have not been archived.

 

  1. Scroll to the Team you want to Archive, or search for the name in the ‘Display Name’ field and filter for results

  1. Select the Team
  2. Click on Proceed

Graphical user interface, application, chat or text message

Description automatically generated

  1. You are now on the final screen before committing your change. You will be able to choose if you want to “Make the SharePoint site read-only for team members”.
  2. You can click the ‘Notes’ tab and enter any notes you may want to keep with the action. Notes are not required.
  3. Once the blue checkmark is clicked, your Teams Group will be archived.

Graphical user interface, application, Teams

Description automatically generated

  1. Task runs and completes.

Graphical user interface, application, Teams

Description automatically generated

 

Success! You have Archived your Teams Group!

 

I hope you found this process straightforward to follow.

 

Further Reading

 How to Restore a Teams Group


Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article